7 seaters SE vs Edition (petrol/diesel) - which model ?

All Skoda Kodiaq related discussions
B250

7 seaters SE vs Edition (petrol/diesel) - which model ?

Post by B250 » Sat May 11, 2019 11:10 am

Hi all,

we are going to buy Skoda Kodiaq 7 seater (jump from Citroen C4 Grand picasso) with PCP. Negotiating prices on carwow now.
We received the following offer:
Edition 2.0TDI 150PS Diesel Automatic for £X (monthly payments)
Edition petrol 1.5TSI Manual for £X
SE 2.0TDI 150ps Diesel Automatic £X - £50

I know that Edition has better equipment but what about those engines in terms of fuel usage/cost ? Is the 2.0TDI Diesel more hungry than 1.5TSI ?
I am total noob and not sure how to compare those engines ...
Also heard long time ago that if Automatic fails it costs you more to repair it (this is new car so it shouldn't happen ate least for first few years but anyway ...).

Thank you for your recommendations

FoxtrotAlpha

Re: 7 seaters SE vs Edition (petrol/diesel) - which model ?

Post by FoxtrotAlpha » Sat May 11, 2019 12:01 pm

I have the 2 Litre TDI Edition with the 150bhp engine and it’s been pretty good. In terms of performance it’s not setting the world on fire but is adequate for the size of vehicle and the roads I mainly drive on (motorways and country twisty). I am achieving on average between 48 and 52 mpg, the maximum so far was 63mpg.

I have not driven the 1.5 litre petrol but I did it’s predecessor the 1.4 and found it lacking compared to the diesel version. I know many will disagree but that’s my opinion. My Edition replacement will have the diesel 150bhp in it as the larger 190bhp isn’t worth it for my location etc.

If the SE is only £50 a month less then it’s only a question of cost vs spec, for that small amount I would go for the Edition every time. For me it wouldn’t be even a consideration but it depends on your budget and willingness to pay it.
It's a 'Kodiaq' and not a 'Bear' unless you are 5 years old.